I seem to have caught a lazy bug

You may know the one. The one that comes around when the weather changes from warm to cool/cold. The one that tells you “missing a workout is no big deal”, and then you all of a sudden miss three in one week. Just like the weathers changed, so has my motivation it seems. As much as I enjoy how I feel when I’m working out on a regular basis, this time of year I seem to go into the “hibernation phase”. Comfort food is around every corner (meatloaf, homemade soups, pasta dishes to die for, pizza ;), and you know how I love to eat), the skies are grey (not very motivating, and we’ve had a lot of rain on top of that). So the weather confines you to inside workouts only (me anyway – since I’m still a rookie runner and the thought of running outside in the cold OR the snow kind of freaks me out). What makes it worse this year is the fact that I have started taking running seriously (not as serious as most runners, but it’s serious for me) and I have come so far with my running and weight loss. Yet, I’m still the kind of person that can talk myself out of exercise pretty easily (hence this blog capturing the “real runner” view point from someone that loves to be lazy…). That makes for an awful combination. It makes me a little crazy in my own head with the tug of war that goes back and forth between knowing I need/want to workout, and still loving that feeling of cuddling up on the couch with a nice blanket and fire to watch some football or catch up on your major DVR addiction all the while stuffing your face with yummy food and beverage.

One of my favorite comfort food meals - homemade meatloaf, mashed potatoes and gravy (with some broccoli for good measure) made by the hubs!

One of my favorite comfort food meals – homemade meatloaf, mashed potatoes and gravy (with some broccoli for good measure) made by the hubs!

To my surprise, as a new runner, I loved running outside in the heat. This is so surprising because I can’t stand to be hot, at all. I would rather be cold than hot any day of the week. I’m not sure if I liked running outside in the heat because I could tell how hard I worked by the sweat literally pooling off of me. Or was it the sun beating down challenging me almost saying “you’re never going to survive this run – you will die today”?  It doesn’t make sense to me. Don’t get me wrong, when I run on the treadmill I have a ton of sweat pooling off me too, and I almost feel like I push myself even harder on the treadmill now. I just don’t feel like I get as much out of it in the end. I’ve always said the biggest difference for me when I started outside running versus what I was doing on the treadmill was the inability to cheat when I ran outside. When you are outside on ground that isn’t moving, you have to do all of the work yourself – that was hard for me. I felt like the treadmill would push me off and I didn’t have to use my legs as much, which I seemed to like.  I know I’ve told you before, lazy is easier for me – it’s my go to place ;). I’m really pushing myself on the treadmill (almost past where I should), but it just feels different after. I don’t feel as accomplished.  And yesterday, it was actually beautiful outside and I had already succumbed to running on the treadmill, so I missed an absolutely beautiful outside run day for no good reason (which could have been the last one of the year) and I was totally bummed about it. I’ve bought the long running pants and long sleeve shirts to run in the cold weather (and those aren’t cheap), but I’m scared to use them. What I’m afraid of I have no idea, but I keep putting it off. It’s like my mind has convinced my body that running for the next 4 months will have to be on the treadmill, and I fell for it so that’s what I do. What makes it worse is I haven’t done my videos in several weeks either (I should really tell you what videos I do, that’s another post I suppose). It may not seem like a big deal to you, but the videos are what made me feel diesel and slimmer because they kicked my butt. I’ve tried some new core work since I’ve gone back to treadmill running, but I don’t feel like I’m getting anything out of it. I have zero core strength, so any core work is hard and it’s just frustrating to feel like you’ve done something with little or no reward!

I realize most of you think “all you have to do is discipline yourself and make yourself workout”. It’s not that easy for me. I wasn’t athletic growing up. I mean to the point of not doing anything physical. I was the one that told my gym teacher I would die if I had to actually run the quarter mile or mile, so I always walked. Talk about lazy. So for me, self-discipline when it comes to exercise is an effort in addition to the effort that I have to put into the workout. It’s a messed up game my mind plays on me I know, and I still tend to lean towards the cozy couch scenario. I know it just sounds like excuses, but I’m not going to let it get me down because I’ve come so far and at least I realize that. I’ve gotten better, but I still consider myself a little pathetic when it comes to getting my workout in whether it be a run or video or core work. I literally have to talk myself into it, pump myself up. It’s harder than it sounds. And forget about those early morning workouts, still can’t manage to make those happen.

I guess this season I will continue to fight the good fight against total laziness and comfort food binging. I mean I’ve already done better than I would have in the past (still running at least 3-4 times a week…on the treadmill). I guess I had just hoped that since I had come so far with my running and physical strength I wouldn’t have this issue this season. I was wrong. I will persevere and continue to remind myself it isn’t worth going backwards, and apparently I really needed to vent about the “lazy bug” I caught. Thanks for listening to my rant! GO RUN! 😉

-T

Yes, me after a tough workout yesterday (face a little swollen from visiting the dentist earlier in the day - HEY, I worked out after going to the uncomfortable dentist and didn't use it as an excuse - GO ME ;) )

Yes, me after a tough workout yesterday (face a little swollen from visiting the dentist earlier in the day – HEY, I worked out after going to the uncomfortable dentist and didn’t use it as an excuse – GO ME 😉 )

Leave a Reply

