Ready, set, set, set, wait…

Here I go, NO I DON’T!  What’s wrong with me???

Why can’t I just be one of those people who jumps right out of bed and gets in my workout gear and goes for a run or those people who just can’t wait to workout? Nope, it’s not me. I’m the girl that puts on her workout gear (because I know if I don’t, it will be that much harder to talk myself into working out later), takes the dogs out for a walk (while trying to decide if the temperature is just right to run, or if I have the energy to run before I have my coffee or smoothie). Then I come back in and have to give the dogs their medicine (this is no small feat mind you). By that time (more often than not) I have talked myself into waiting for the perfect time (whenever that is) to workout (whatever my workout is for the day) when it is usually much hotter and harder to workout.

This week I have added a new workout series to my routine, in addition to running. I will post about that later. So, it has interfered with my running schedule, which doesn’t help things at all. Some days (ok, so far two, working on three of the days), it has even kept me from running. I don’t need extra distractions to keep me from running as you might have noticed, and yet I’ve gone and added one in the hopes to increase my strength and flexibility. I really am excited about it, I just have to figure out a way to make it work and figure out how to keep up my running (easier said than done). Because the running has become a bit of an OCD thing for me now, so I have to keep it up.

Here’s the bigger problem. Right now I have all day to get my workout done, and sometimes I take all day to get my workout done. I’ve learned that I’m the kind of person that needs a schedule. I work better with routine. I am not a morning person, at all. I never have been. And I don’t like to workout in the morning you can be sure of that. I don’t feel like I get my best results in the morning (honestly, I’ve never really pushed myself consistently to try to workout in the morning because it just plain sucks, so I wouldn’t know for sure what my results were in the morning). I think I get my best results around three o’clock in the afternoon for whatever reason (that’s my story and I’m sticking to it). But in reality, when you are working a job, who can stop their day at three o’clock in the afternoon to workout (besides me currently, until I go back to work)? When I was working, if I didn’t work out in the morning it was really easy to talk myself out of working out at night and into a glass of wine after a long hard day! I can still talk myself into those days sometimes, but most days I manage to get most everything I need to done and a always get good workout in thankfully. I just hate that I have to get most of what I’m doing done while I’m in my workout clothes because I am trying to talk myself into working out most of the day…

So here’s my goal next week. A schedule. Yep, I’m going to do the morning workout routine if it kills me (and if you are within earshot, it may sound like it is literally killing me, because I am sure there will be a lot of whining and complaining to go along with it all). I mean I will be going back to work at some point, and I need to get myself back into a routine anyway, so there is no time like the present! Besides, I don’t think I’m going to get very far in my slippers…
photo-14

How and when do you motivate yourself to get your workout in?

One response to “Ready, set, set, set, wait…

  1. Well…I’m sure you are chomping at the bit to know how the ” get up bright and early routine” thing is working out for me. So I won’t keep you waiting any longer, poorly (boo). BUT, even though I have a laundry list of excuses (and they are excuses) as to why I didn’t do the “up bright and early get it done” thing, I have managed to maintain the “get it done” thing. So, the workouts are getting done a little earlier (ok, yesterday’s did – and I had a friend come over and workout and go running with me which was a fun change of pace), and the to do list is getting done. I will take that as a win! Since I have knocked some things off the to do list that have been on there for over six months (embarrassing). Yes, I am moving in the right direction and not procrastinating the things I didn’t want to do any longer. And I am still striving to wake up with the alarm and get my workout done first thing at least once this week if it kills me!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

